Monday, October 18, 2021

AC Milan’s Penalty Call Following Lazio Star Immobile’s Foul Was Correct

Referee Daniele Chiffi’s decision to award AC Milan a penalty following Lazio star Ciro Immobile’s foul yesterday was correct.

As reported by officiating expert Errori Arbitrali on Twitter last night, the 31-year-old Italian striker clearly fouled Franck Kessie in the extra time of the first half, with his challenge missing the ball and only hitting the 24-year-old Ivorian midfielder’s leg.

Kessie missed the resulting penalty (see here), but the decision to award one was correct regardless.

Chiffi came under fire from the Italian press today though, following his failure to give Tiemoue Bakayoko a red card in the second half when he stamped on defender Francesco Acerbi’s ankle.

Lazio deserved to lose the match against AC Milan yesterday, putting in a poor performance that clearly frustrated coach Maurizio Sarri too.

The Biancocelesti will have to pick themselves up quickly, however, as they will travel to Turkey to face Galatasaray in their Europa League opener on Thursday.
Source Link

RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular

Recent Comments